Political newcomer running in Pilot

By Andy Winemiller - awinemiller@civitasmedia.com

DOBSON — A newcomer to politics has filed for a seat on the Pilot Mountain Board of Commissioners.

Evan Cockerham, 30, is making his debut in politics, running for one of two open seats on the board.

Incumbent Kimberly Quinn has already filed for re-election, but Commissioner Cordie Armstrong had yet to file as of Monday afternoon.

The two seats up for grabs in Pilot Mountain are at-large seats. The top two vote-getters in the November election will take the two positions in January.

Cockerham is employed at his family’s business, P.C. Medic Computers in Mount Airy, and he said he wants to be “part of the solution to the challenges Pilot Mountain faces,” citing concerns regarding infrastructure and a lack of a finance officer in the town.

Cockerham is another name on a growing list of municipal and school board candidates set to run in November.

Elsewhere in Surry County, other municipal elections are also seeing candidates file to run for office.

In Dobson, three incumbent town commissioners — Vonda Comer, Todd Dockery and Robin Testerman — have filed for re-election.

In Elkin, Sam Bishop has filed to run for mayor and Tommy Wheeler has filed for one of two seats up for grabs on the Elkin Board of Commissioners.

The filing period for seats in all three municipalities closes on July 15.

Phillip W. Thacker, 60, recently filed for re-election to his District A seat on the Mount Airy Board of Education. Thacker, who works as a director of engineering at Renfro Corp., has served on the board since 2000.

Thacker’s filing rounds out the field of incumbents for the Mount Airy school board. Chairwoman Wendy Carriker and board members Kate Appler and Mike Marion will also run bids to be retained in their seats.

The filing period for the four seats on the city school board ends on Aug. 5 at noon.

The Elkin School Board has also seen two incumbents file for re-election. Board members Richard Brinegar and Haley McCoin Sullivan will run unopposed if no challengers file by the Aug. 8 filing deadline for those seats.

By Andy Winemiller


Andy is a staff writer and may be reached at 415-4698.

Andy is a staff writer and may be reached at 415-4698.

comments powered by Disqus