Clean sweep for GOP in Surry County

By John Peters -

With the final of Surry County’s 29 precincts filing results around 9:30 p.m., it appears Republicans have taken a clean sweep in Surry County races.

In the race for the East District seat on the Surry County Board of Commissioners, incumbent Van Tucker has won over challenger Ronald Bowman, taking more than 70 percent of the vote.

Tucker, a Republican, has 21,829, or 72 percent of the votes cast, compared to 8,519 for Democrat Bowman.

Rep. Sarah Stevens, R-Mount Airy, has taken Surry County from her challenger, Democrat challenger Vera Smith Reynolds, as well, garnering 21,192 votes to 8,235 for Reynolds. With the win Stevens holds on to her 90th district house seat.

Incumbent Shirley Randleman, R-Wilkesboro, defeated her Democrat party challenger, Michael Holleman, 21,599 to 8,252 in the race for the 30th District senate seat. Combined with results from elsewhere in her district, it appears Randleman will hold onto her seat.

While the gubernatorial, U.S. Senate and presidential races were still wide open at 9:35 p.m., it appeared Donald Trump, Sen. Richard Burr, and Gov. Pat McCrory were well on their way to winning Surry County.

Trump recorded 23,210 votes in Surry County, a more than three-to-one margin over Hillary Clinton, who garnered 7.280 Surry County votes. Libertarian Party candidate Gary Johnson received 720 votes, with 292 write-ins counted.

In the gubernatorial race, which was still too close to call statewide at 9:40 p.m., McCrory easily outdistanced Roy Cooper, 21,278 to 9,391 in early voting numbers over Roy Cooper. Libertarian candidate Ron Cecil recorded 599 local votes.

Incumbent Republican Richard Burr, seeking re-election to the U.S. Senate, also held won Surry County, 22,693 votes to 7,316 for Democratic challenger Deborah K. Ross. Libertarian candidate Sean Haugh recorded 1,126 votes.

In Pilot Mountain, where four candidates were squaring off over two seats in a non-partisan race, incumbent commissioner Kim Quinn and newcomer Evan Cockerham on the Pilot Mountain Board of Commissioners.

Cockerham came in first with 407 votes, with Quinn close behind at 359 votes.

They beat out challengers Mary Nunn Meijboom, who garnered 267 votes, and Franklin Nichols, with 154 votes. There were 11 write-ins.

By John Peters

comments powered by Disqus