New administrators named for local schools

DOBSON — The Surry County Board of Education has announced a number of school administrative changes that will be effective July 1.

Named as new principals for the system are Donna Bledsoe, Brandon Whitaker and Margaret Spicer. Bledsoe will serve as the principal at Mountain Park Elementary, Whitaker will serve as the principal at Gentry Middle School, and Spicer will be the new principal at Copeland Elementary School.

Bledsoe is a veteran educator with the Surry County School System. She has served as a classroom teacher, instructional specialist and assistant principal. Whitaker is a veteran educator who has been a classroom teacher and assistant principal. Spicer is also a veteran educator for the system. Over her career, she has worked as a classroom teacher, instructional specialist, and assistant principal.

The Board of Education also announced new administrative assignments for the 2015-2016 school year.

Cathy Hull will transfer as principal from Mountain Park Elementary to Cedar Ridge Elementary. Alison York, currently at Cedar Ridge Elementary, will become principal at Pilot Mountain Elementary School. Both Hull and York previously served as classroom teachers and assistant principals.

In addition, three assistant principals received reassignments.

Regina Barbour, AP at East Surry, will become the assistant principal at Copeland Elementary; Carla Coble, AP at Pilot Mountain Elementary, will relocate to East Surry High School; and Dustin Webb, AP at Pilot Mountain Middle School, will be a new assistant principal at North Surry High School.

Joanne Brown was named as the new assistant principal at Pilot Mountain Middle School. Browne received her Master Degree in educational administration from Ursuline College in Pepper Pike, Ohio. Throughout her career in Ohio and North Carolina, she has worked as a reading specialist, intervention specialist, learning team facilitator, and curriculum coordinator.

comments powered by Disqus