Pilot Mountain’s Board of Commissioners appoint a Main Street Committee

10 members appointed

By Eva Winemiller - ewinemiller@civitasmedia.com

PILOT MOUNTAIN — Monday morning Board of Commissioners met to form a committee to finalize the Main Street Program application.

Pilot Mountain officials have been trying for several years to get into the program, according to Mayor Dwight Atkins. However, due to budget changes within the Department of Commerce the prior applications had not been approved.

The deadline for the town to turn in the application to the Department of Commerce was May 1, Monday.

The most recent application submitted on behalf of the town will be for a part-time position through the Downtown Associates program, said Atkins. Prior grant applications had asked for enough money for a full-time downtown coordinator.

The position, if approved, will provided marketing for the town of Pilot Mountain while working with town officials to help brand the downtown area, explained Atkins.

In last month’s routine board meeting, Town Manager Michael Boaz explained the board would need to meet prior to the deadline to form a committee.

“The committee would essentially handle the interests of Downtown,” explained Boaz.

At the time, the board agree’d they would meet, but did not set a date.

After the meeting was finalized, and the committee was formed, Boaz drove the application to Raleigh to make the deadline, according to Boaz.

Commissioner Kim Quinn she would not be at the meeting to vote, but she did make some suggestions to board members, after making a last ditch effort to find people to fill spots on the committee via a Facebook post.

Commissioner Evan Cockerham explained 10 members of the community were appointed.

“Members include representatives from the board, members of other local organizations, stakeholders, and business owners,” said Cockerham.

Cockerham added that he and Commissioner Gary Bell were appointed to the committee.

“I think we have a really good group that has both some good idea people and some self-starters who can get things done,” said Cockerham.

“Finding leaders in the community can really help put efforts like this over the top,” added Cockerham

The members of the Pilot Mountain Main Street Coordinating Committee are, Commissioners Evan Cockerham and Gary Bell, Dwight Atkins, ex officio, Scott Needham, Janie Shephard, Bert Meijboom, Pamela Hicks, Tina Hopkins, Sandra Heath, Susie Cooper, and Christy Craig.

10 members appointed

By Eva Winemiller


Reach Eva Winemiller at (336) 415-4739 or on Twitter @ThePilotNC


Reach Eva Winemiller at (336) 415-4739 or on Twitter @ThePilotNC


comments powered by Disqus